HEALTH, SAFETY AND ENVIRONMENT (HSE)

Transitgas AG has an integrated management system for HSE (Health, Safety and Environment) in place and has been certified according to internationally recognised standards, namely OHSAS 18001 (Occupational Health and Safety) and ISO 14001 (Environmental Management), since February 2010. The certification demonstrates that the company meets all the requirements of the legal regulations and corresponding standards.

This company management system enables all company activities to be better understood, controlled and improved from the point of view of health and safety of personnel as well as possible effects on the environment.

The HSE management system is a way of life for the complete workforce and has passed every control audit.

Safety of the Transport System

The special steel pipes used for the construction of the Transitgas pipeline meet the strict requirements of present day technical regulations. Before commissioning, the individual sections of the pipeline were subjected to strict quality and leak testing.

Careful inspection and maintenance of pipes and plant guarantee compliance with the high standards of operating safety. The condition and integrity of the pipeline is tested using a complex electronic device, the so-called intelligent pig.
It is passed through the pipeline using the gas flow and detects invisible defects in the walls of the pipe for example.

The good relations between Transitgas AG and all landowners affected by the natural gas pipeline significantly simplify monitoring and preventive maintenance.

Particular attention is paid to the pipeline route. It is regularly inspected by vehicle and on foot, in order to identify potentially dangerous situations in good time.

The pipes are fitted with an insulating cover as a passive corrosion protection. In addition, they are actively protected against corrosion by a cathodic corrosion protection system in case of damage to the pipe insulation. Monitoring of the cathodic corrosion protection is carried out using electrical control measurements along the whole of the route and within the stations.

As a result of the installation of an extra slide-gate valve station at Transitgas AG’s initiative, in conjunction with the major expansion, the safety standard of the transport system was additionally increased.

Health and Safety of Persons

In addition to strict compliance with statutory regulations, Transitgas AG makes every effort to safeguard the health and safety of its employees.

That is achieved through measures including training and further education, as well as internal and external audits.

HSE

Transitgas AG verfügt über ein integriertes Managementsystem für Gesundheit, Sicherheit und Umwelt HSE (Health, Safety & Environment) und ist seit Februar 2010 gemäss international anerkannter Standards OHSAS 18001 (Gesundheit und Sicherheit) sowie ISO 14001 (Umwelt) zertifiziert. Die Zertifizierung bescheinigt, dass das Unternehmen alle Anforderungen erfüllt, die sich aus den gesetzlichen Anforderungen und den jeweils zugrundeliegenden normativen Regelungen ergeben.

Dieses Betriebsführungssystem erlaubt, alle Gesellschaftsaktivitäten im Hinblick auf Gesundheit und Sicherheit der Personen sowie auf allfällige Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt besser zu verstehen, zu kontrollieren und zu verbessern.

Das HSE-Managementsystem wird von der gesamten Belegschaft gelebt und hat sämtliche Kontrollaudits erfüllt.

Sicherheit Transportsystem

Die beim Bau der Transitgasleitung verlegten Spezialstahlrohre erfüllen die strengen Anforderungen der heutigen technischen Vorschriften. Vor der Inbetriebnahme wurden an den einzelnen Leitungsabschnitten strenge Qualitäts- und Dichtheitsprüfungen durchgeführt.

Sorgfältig durchgeführte Kontroll- und Unterhaltsarbeiten an Leitungen und Anlagen gewährleisten die Einhaltung der hohen Sicherheitsstandards für den Betrieb. Der Zustand und die Integrität der Leitungen wird mit einer komplexen elektronischen Vorrichtung, dem sogenannten „Intelligenten Molch“, überprüft. Sie wird während des Betriebes mit dem Gasfluss durch die Leitung geschoben und spürt unter anderem eventuell verdeckte Mängel in der Rohrwandung auf.

Das gute Einvernehmen zwischen der Transitgas AG und allen von der Erdgasleitung betroffenen Grundeigentümern erleichtert wesentlich die Überwachungsarbeiten und die Störfallvorsorge.

Besondere Aufmerksamkeit wird dem Leitungstrassee gewidmet. Es wird regelmässig mit Fahrzeugen und zu Fuss kontrolliert, um potentielle Gefahrensituationen rechtzeitig zu erkennen.

Die Leitungen sind mit einer Isolationsumhüllung als passiver Korrosionsschutz versehen. Zusätzlich sind sie durch ein kathodisches Korrosionsschutzsystem aktiv gegen Korrosion bei eventuell vorhandenen Beschädigungen der Rohrisolation geschützt. Die Überwachung des kathodischen Korrosionsschutzes erfolgt anhand elektrischer Kontrollmessungen entlang des gesamten Trassees und innerhalb der Stationen.

Durch den von der Transitgas AG initiierten Einbau einer weiteren im Zusammenhang mit dem Grossausbau hat sich der Sicherheitsstandard des Transportsystems zusätzlich erhöht.

Sicherheit und Gesundheit von Personen

Neben der strikten Einhaltung der gesetzlichen Vorschriften setzt sich die Transitgas AG intensiv für die Wahrung der Sicherheit und Gesundheit ihrer Mitarbeitenden ein.

Dies geschieht unter anderem durch Schulungen und Weiterbildungen sowie durch interne und externe Audits.